Ashtanga Yoga

Ashtanga Yoga (The 8 limbs of yoga)
Ashtanga Yoga (The 8 limbs of yoga)

Ashtanga Yoga has its origin traced back to Vedic philosophy. However, the concept has been objectively classified into eight-fold pathway by Maharishi Patanjali in his book ‘Yoga sutra’. They are classified as under:

  1. Yama i.e. principle of moral conduct. This includes ahimsa (non violence), satya (truthfulness), asteya (non stealing), brahmacharya (continence/celibacy) and aparigrah (non possessiveness).
  2. Niyam i.e. personal discipline. This includes shoucha (purity), santosh(contentment), tapa(endurance), swadhyaya(self study) and eshwar pranidhan(dedication). Niyam emphasizes upon acquiring good dispositions for purification. This amounts to purification of body through washing and eating pure food, and purifying mind by developing virtuous habits, reading scriptures and thinking about almighty.
  3. Asana i.e. yogic positions or yogic postures. A stable and comfortable physical position is necessary to attain mental and physical equilibrium with the environment. These positions are known as the asana. The aim is to bring about the control of both mind and the body.
  4. Pranayam i.e. yogic breathing. This involves extension and control of breathing. This assists the steadiness of body and mind and increase the power of concentration. Breathing practice for voluntary control of inspiration, expiration and retention of breath is called pranayam.
  5. Pratyahara i.e. withdrawal of senses. The senses have to be redirected away from the phenomenal world to the self. This restrain of senses by voluntary withdrawal from external environment is called pratyahara. Once this is achieved, one can can transcend ordinary distractions of life so that, he can concentrate on what is important to contemplate. Related Article: Yoga therapy; Contemporary view
  6. Dharana i.e. concentration on object. This is to focus the mind on unique object without allowing it to jump on the other objects for the determined period of time. This increases mental concentration.
  7. Dhyan i.e. meditation. Dhyan is continuous flow of mental processes towards the object of meditation. Although, concentration and meditation appear somewhat similar, but these two are distinct phenomena. If one has good concentration, it will automatically lead to meditation.
  8. Samadhi i.e. salvation. Dhyan gradually leads to blissful identification. i.e. the penetration of the object of meditation with the practitioner’s own being. This is the highest state called Samadhi. In Samadhi, only the object awareness remains and the consciousness of individuality disappears. The knower (practitioner of meditation) and the known (the object of meditation) and the knowledge that arises in the mind about the object of meditation fuse and merge into one another to become a single entity. This state of Samadhi is sometimes described as shunya or void or emptiness. In Samadhi, the mind is so immersed in the object that it looses itself and identifies with the object. In Samadhi, aatma i.e. the real self and parmatma i.e. the cosmic self becomes one.

You may also like...

28 Responses

  1. click here says:

    wow, awesome blog article.Thanks Again. Cool.

  2. Promotional merchandise suppliers The most visible example of that is when the individual is gifted with physical attractiveness

  3. more details says:

    Thanks again for the post. Keep writing.

  4. go to see says:

    I really liked your article post.Really looking forward to read more. Great.

  5. dream books says:

    You made some clear points there. I looked on the internet for the topic and found most individuals will agree with your website.

  6. go to says:

    Some really interesting info , well written and generally user pleasant.

  7. explore says:

    You can certainly see your expertise in the work you write. The world hopes for more passionate writers such as you who aren at afraid to mention how they believe. All the time follow your heart.

  8. go to see says:

    There is certainly noticeably a bundle to comprehend this. I assume you might have made particular great factors in functions also.

  9. go to says:

    Thanks for sharing, this is a fantastic blog.Really thank you! Great.

  10. click here says:

    Wow! I cant think I have found your blog. Very helpful information.

  11. check says:

    In any case I all be subscribing to your rss feed and I hope

  12. click here says:

    pretty nice post, i surely like this web site, persist in it

  13. explore says:

    It as hard to find knowledgeable people about this topic, but you sound like you know what you are talking about! Thanks

  14. Looking forward to reading more. Great post.Thanks Again. Fantastic.

  15. Whispering Misty So sorry you are going to pass up the workshop!

  16. Thanks for sharing this fine article. Very interesting ideas! (as always, btw)

  17. more details says:

    This website truly has all the information I wanted about this subject and didn at know who to ask.

  18. Thanks so much for the post.Thanks Again. Much obliged.

  19. this website says:

    Really appreciate you sharing this post.Really thank you! Want more.

  20. go to says:

    Usually I do not read article on blogs, but I would like to say that this write-up very forced me to try and do it! Your writing style has been amazed me. Thanks, very nice article.

  21. click here says:

    romantic relationship world-wide-web internet websites, it as really effortless

  22. this website says:

    Thanks for sharing, this is a fantastic article.Really thank you! Fantastic.

  23. this website says:

    Some truly prime blog posts on this internet site , saved to favorites.

  24. Some truly wonderful content on this internet site , thanks for contribution.

  25. check says:

    I will right away grab your rss as I can not find your e-mail subscription link or e-newsletter service. Do you have any? Kindly let me know in order that I could subscribe. Thanks.

  26. with hackers? My last blog (wordpress) was hacked and I ended up losing months of hard work due to no

  27. this website says:

    it is a really nice point of view. I usually meet people who rather say what they suppose others want to hear. Good and well written! I will come back to your site for sure!

  28. click here says:

    You have made some good points there. I looked on the internet to find out more about the issue and found most people will go along with your views on this site.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *